Crochet Neckline; DIY Shirt Refashion

crochet shirt

Do you know how to crochet?  Do you have a plain shirt that is in need of a little pick-me-up?  Than this project is for you.  Crocheting a neckline is an easy way to transform a ho-hum shirt into something with a little more interest and feminine style.  I love how the openwork crochet creates a lace-like appearance without being overly fru-fru.

I only used three different stitches to create this particular neckline; chain stitch, single crochet, and double crochet.  The thread that I used was just a simple cotton crochet thread that I inherited from my Grandma.  It’s probably a size 10 thread, though it didn’t have a label so I’m not exactly sure.

Untitled

To begin, I used a 1mm crochet hook to pierce the fabric of the original shirt neckline and create a crocheted foundation for my new crocheted neckline.  This particular shirt has a double layer of knit fabric in the bodice, so it was a little difficult to pierce, which is why I used the smallest hook that I could use with the thickness of thread that I had.  In the places where I pierced the shirt I made a single crochet, then made three chain stitches between each single crochet stitch.  At this point, a fabric marker may come in handy so that you can be sure that your stitches are evenly spaced along the neckline.  Or, you can just wing it like I did.

Untitled

DIY Crochet neckline

Once you have a foundation row established, it is a good idea to find the middle of the shirt (front and back) and mark it with some contrasting yarn.  This will come in handy if you would like to do any shaping of your neckline.

From here on your stitches will depend on the look you want as well as the size and shape of your particular neckline.  For my shirt, I used various combinations of double crochet with chain stitches between and single crochet with chain stitches between.  Keep in mind that if you want your neckline to lay flat, the overall number of stitches will need to decrease as you add each successive row.

DIY Crochet neckline

crochet shirt

My original shirt had a neckline that was very deep in front and in back.  I really like it, but I thought that it was a bit low in the front, so I gave myself a little more coverage with the crochet neckline in the front than I did in the back.

To keep up on all things zween, please follow me on Facebook and Pinterest.

Happy Crafting!

This post has been added to the linky party make it, wear it Thursdays on The Train to Crazy, Make it Pretty Monday on the Dedicated House, The Inspiration Board Link Party on Caroyln’s Homework,  and Made By You Mondays on Skip to my Lou.

19 Comments

Filed under Tutorials, Upcycled

19 responses to “Crochet Neckline; DIY Shirt Refashion

  1. lovely, thanks for sharing.

  2. I love that Emily! I have these t-shirts from Target that I love, but the necklines got all messed up after just one washing. (bad form, Target!). I think I’ll try it. Have you had any trouble with your crochet shrinking in the wash though?

    • good question. honestly, i haven’t washed it yet because I just finished it the other day and haven’t done laundry since. i guess that would be a concern if you use 100% cotton like i did. since there isn’t an easy way to pre-wash the thread, i was just planning on washing it in cold water.
      the first few crochet necklines that i made i did while in morocco and never had any problem with shrinkage, but that was with an acrylic thread. I’ll let you know haw it turns out after I wash it.

  3. I love this! The idea and the crochet! Must do it!!!

  4. afamiliarillusion

    This is beautiful, I’m definitely doing this! Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. That looks beautiful! It makes the shirt look so different. Wonderful job. I found your post next to mine at the party at The Dedicated House. :) Megan

  6. This is great! I was looking for something to do with all my crochet thread that wasn’t a dollie or a snow flake. :) Thanks for sharing!

  7. Your shirt is beautiful! I love wearing t-shirts, so I can’t wait to try this since it turns a basic T into something quite lovely! I have never thought to crochet a neckline on a shirt.

    • I’m happy that this project was an inspiration to you! I hope that your own t-shirt refashion turns out well and I hope that you link up to your project once it is complete!

  8. This is a beautiful way to fancy up a plain sweater. I love it. hanks for sharing.
    Donna @onceuponasewingmachine.com

  9. ACK!!! I love this!! Thanks so much for sharing!

  10. I have crocheted cotton collars and lace for my daughters dresses. They washed fine (I did not pre-wash either) but I did need to press them after each washing. I always pressed when they were semi-dry or I would spritz them with water, the pressing reshaped them just fine.

  11. I love what you did with your shirt and have featured it in my post as one of ten ways to redesign t-shirts: http://thedomesticatedprincess.blogspot.com/2012/11/from-t-shirt-to-treasure-part-2.html.

  12. Wow, I love this. Thank you for the inspiration and for sharing! I’m all about the single and double crochet, so I think I can do this! If it’s okay, I’d love to share on my blog in the future.
    ~Tammy

    • Thank you Tammy, I’m glad you found this post helpful and inspiring. By all means share away, I only ask that you link up to this original post. Happy crafting and happy New Year!

  13. I see Christmas presents in the near future. Love it!

Leave a Reply

