Toot Tuesday: Crochet Blanket + Mary Jane Slippers

Instead of sharing just one tutorial this Tuesday, I’m going to share two. Bonus!

The first is a wonderful tutorial from Lisa over on ohmygoodknits! for her Mary Jane Slippers.  As you can see from the photo above, I had no problem at all whipping these cuties up.  I found her pattern, along with her step-by-step tutorial (including pictures) very easy to follow and the end result to be extremely cute.  I don’t consider myself an exceptionally fast crocheter and they took a grand total of two and a half hours to make.  The only thing that I don’t think Lisa mentions in her pattern is anything about sizing the slippers.  I made the pattern as-is and they fit perfectly on my US size 6 feet.  They will stretch a bit, but it would be very easy to adjust the size by adding or subtracting rows on the back and forth portion of the pattern.

The second tutorial is on how to make a granny square so that you too can have a cozy throw blanket to snuggle up with on these chilly winter evenings (along with your new slippers of course).

The nice thing about granny squares is that they are small and much easier to tote around to a meeting, dentist appointment, or soccer game than a large blanket. Plus, once you’ve memorized how to make them you can crank them out without hardly even thinking about what you’re doing.

So here’s how you make a granny square:

abbreviations:
ch: chain
sl st: slip stitch
dc: double crochet

Start off by making a sliding loop (or, if you’d rather, you can ch 3 and sl st in first st to make a ring which you will then work into like the sliding loop)

Round 1:  ch 3 (counts as 1st dc), 2 dc into loop, ch 3 [ 3 dc into loop, ch 3 ] 3 times, sl st in top of beginning ch 3, pull tail of loop to cinch

Round 2: sl st to next ch 3 space, ch 3, 2 dc in same ch 3 space, ch 3, 3 dc in same ch 3 space {this will make your first corner of this row}, ch 1, [ 3 dc in next ch 3 space, ch 3, 3 dc in same ch 3 space, ch 1 ] 3 times, sl st in top of beginning ch 3


Round 3: sl st to next ch 3 space, ch 3, 2 dc in same ch 3 space, ch 3, 3 dc in same ch 3 space, ch 1, 3 dc in next ch 1 space of previous round, ch 1 { 3 dc in next ch 3 space, ch 3, 3 dc in same space, ch 1, 3 dc in next ch 1 space, ch 1 [ 3 dc in next ch 3 space, ch 3, 3 dc in same space, ch 1, 3 dc in next ch 1 space, ch 1 ] 3 times, sl st in top of beginning ch 3

Rounds 4 and beyond:  continue working rounds as above with [ 3 dc, ch 3, 3 dc ] in corners, 3 dc in each ch 1 space, and ch 1 between each 3 dc (except for corners)

Voila!  You’ve made your first square!  Depending on what you want your blanket to look like, you can make your squares solid colors, as I did, or spice it up and alternate the colors by rows, or as my Grandma Virgie did, you can make each square mostly one color, then unify them with a border like in this throw she made me 3 years ago to use up some of her yarn stash.  I love the color combinations she came up with!

For my blanket, I used size worsted weight Cannon Super Soft yarn with a size H hook.  I don’t know how many skeins I used of each color as I started this blanket in late 2007.  I had it nearly finished (all I needed to do was finish the border and weave in the ends) when it went into storage while we were away in the Peace Corps.  Once we got settled into our new home last month I decided that it was finally time to finish the darn thing.  Below is the pattern configuration that I used.  The finished blanket is 51″ x 44.”

I hope you’ve enjoyed this edition of Toot Tuesday. Join me again next week for some more crafty learning!

Also, like zween on Facebook and keep updated on future tutorials!

Leave a comment

Filed under Tutorials

Leave a Reply

