Spinning Event

This afternoon several spinners showed up at the locally owned yarn shop, River Colors Studio, with their wheels (and spindles) spinning.

There were so many people in the shop that there wasn’t quite enough room for me to demonstrate felt bead making today, but no worries because I’ll be coming back another time to demo the easy and fun process.

Before this afternoon I had never tried spinning yarn on a spindle or a wheel but today, thanks to the instruction of Andrea Marquis (a rep for Yarn Superhero), I was able to try out both!

Below, Andrea cards some wool while teaching the woman in purple (sorry, I didn’t get her name) how to use a drop spindle.


You can always count on yarnies to be a warm, friendly, and helpful bunch.  I throughly enjoyed seeing some awesome works in progress as well as an amazing finished piece while I was there.

Lynn (right) shows off a gorgous knit blanket she’s been working on for months.

Sarah Stilgenbauer works on a beautiful Fair Isle citrus sweater while wearing another super cute textured sweater that she made.  Can you believe that Sarah first started knitting in the fall of 2007?!

And here is Margaret Ruble modeling some very stylish fingerless mitts with dainty beads.  Wow, these sure put my fingerless mitts to shame!  How I admire all of these very talented women!

If you are a spinner or knitter and couldn’t make it out to this event today, I hope that this post has inspired you to pick out some yarn and get to work.  And if you aren’t, well, what are you waiting for?

4 Comments

Filed under Events

4 responses to “Spinning Event

  1. Really nice post! I was so busy with spinners I didn’t get a chance to see those FABULOUS knitted FOs. Wow!

  2. Thank you for your kind words and awesome spinning instruction!

  3. Sarah

    Thanks for stopping by to document the day! Your photographs are spectacular. It was great to meet you and I hope you’ll be back to show us how to felt all that roving into beads.

    • Thanks Sarah! I hope to be back at River Colors soon to teach felt bead making and also just hang out and crochet (or knit) in such an awesome atmosphere. I hope to see you there again soon!

Leave a Reply

