Treasure Hunting; Thrift Store Finds


Above; Someones stash of punch embroidery thread ($8.00).

Do you love thrift store shopping?  Me too!

What is it that is so appealing?  There are three main reasons that I shop at thrift stores:

1.  I don’t want to contribute to demand at big box stores, especially when I can find similar items that are gently used, thus keeping the landfill at bay just a little while longer for these objects.


Above; vintage recipe box ($1.29). Anyone who knows me knows that I’m a sucker for interesting containers.

2.  Money.  Lets face it, thrift store shopping is, well, thrifty.  However, I do take issue with certain thrift stores (who will remain nameless, at least for now) that I feel over price their donated items.  Maybe you’ve experienced this as well.  You walk into your thrift store and find the racks so crammed with clothing that you can’t even see what you’re trying to buy, yet the price is higher than you think is reasonable and there are no specials in sight.

Years ago, when I noticed prices had raised significantly, I asked a manager why.  She stated that it was due to costs incurred by the store for people dumping unusable goods which they were then responsible for disposing of.  I can see that this could be a significant issue and reason for an increase in price, but at the same time, if prices at thrift store start to equalize or even exceed those of Wal-Mart or Target, then we have a problem relating to my first reason for thrift store shopping.

3.  The thrill of the hunt!  Yes, as the title of this post indicates, I do view thrift store shopping as a treasure hunt of sorts.  Ideally I like to go once or twice a month and just browse for an hour or so.  I look at everything because over the years I’ve realized that I’ve found the best summer dress in the dead of winter and a treasured sweater in the heat of summer.  It’s always a pleasant surprise to buy something that is immediately wearable.

In addition to just browsing and seeing what catches my eye, I also like to go with a list and a sense of purpose for things I am particularly interested in finding because sometimes I do need something right now and can’t really afford to spend months hoping that it comes up for offer.

An example of this happened last week when I went looking for an appropriate table-cloth to use at yesterday’s craft bazaar.  To my delight I found the perfect one!


Above; oven mitt with the cutest pattern ever ($1.29). Bonus: it’s handmade too!

These are the main reasons that I shop at thrift stores.  Do you have a favorite thrift store that you frequent?  A story of a particularly great find?  I’d love to hear about it!  Leave a comment below or share your story onzween’s facebook fan page.

2 Comments

Filed under Home

2 responses to “Treasure Hunting; Thrift Store Finds

  1. Great job Em! Love all that you’re doing—the fabric flowers & hair clip display are tres chic!

  2. thanks Mary! All of my hair clips and broaches have been consigned at Crafty Goodness as of Monday, so I need to start making more for the craft fair that’s coming up on May 14.

Leave a Reply

