Sunglasses case tutorial

One of the best things about summer and being able to wear contacts again is sporting sunglasses (I was on a three-year hiatus from contacts right before and during my time in the Peace Corps).  My favorite are the really big bug kind, like the ones pictured above.  In fact, not only are they my favorite, they are my only pair.  That means I need to take care of them and not get them scratched up and why I decided they needed a cute case.

I’ve had the fabric that I used for the case for a long time.  I’ve always loved the pattern and colors, but never really had a good reason to use it.  It’s a soft, fleece-like material which made it perfect for this project, plus it coordinates really well with my everyday purse.

I came up with a really simple pattern which you’ll easily be able to replicate and customize for your own glasses at home.

Materials needed:
Soft fabric
Paper, pencil, and ruler
Scissors (for paper and cloth)
Sewing machine and thread
A small bit of elastic
One button

Step one: make your pattern. Decide how wide and long you want your case to be. Add 1 1/4″ to the width to account for the seam allowance. The length will be the length of the finished case x 2 + 2 1/2″ (for the flap) + 1 1/4″ (for the seam allowance). My pattern is 16 3/4″ x 5 1/4″. I then used a food container lid to make the edges rounded. You’ll notice in the picture below that there appears to be two patterns. That’s because I originally thought I would add some batting between my layers of fabric for extra cushion, however I later decided that this was unnecessary.

Step two: Using your pattern, cut out two identical pieces of fabric.

Step three: Pin the two pieces of fabric together (right sides facing). Bend the small piece of elastic in half (like a horseshoe) and place it in the middle of one of the short sides of the fabric. Make sure that the two ends of the elastic are in line with the edges of the fabric and the loop part is facing in. The elastic should be sandwiched between the two pieces of fabric. (Note that the picture below shows the elastic before it was inserted between the two layers of fabric.)

Step four: sew around the perimeter of the piece using a 5/8″ seam allowance. Leave a 2-3″ gap in the middle of one of the long sides to turn right side out. Before turning right side out, trim corners like pictured below.

Step five: Press your piece flat.  “quilt” your fabric.  This step isn’t really necessary.  I decided that I would run two lines of stitches down the length of the fabric, corresponding with the pattern for aesthetics and also to keep the fabrics from shifting.

Step six: Use your glasses to figure out where you want your case to be folded. Top stitch around the three sides to make the pocket. (Notice that I didn’t sew that little opening shut that I used for turning. It is unnecessary as it is now top stitched.)

Step seven: Top stitch the flap of the case. If the elastic doesn’t seem secure enough with just the seam stitch and the top stitching (as mine wasn’t) add extra stitching to ensure that the elastic loop doesn’t pull out. Position and sew on your button.

Now you’re ready to tote your sunglasses wherever you go this summer without worrying about scratches!

*Bonus* you can alter this pattern slightly to make a matching coin purse too! Instead of the button and elastic, I used two snaps as the closure. The buttons on the outside of the flap are just decorative to cover up the stitching from the snaps.

Happy sewing!

Like zween on Facebook to be updated about future tutorials, news and more.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tutorials

Leave a Reply

