Get Organized!

It was a busy day in my studio, but now, as usual, it’s a complete mess.  I’m really lucky to have a room devoted to all my supplies, at least for the time being.  My husband sees it less as losing a bedroom and more as gaining the rest of our home.  He loves that their aren’t strings and do dads all over the living room.

I know that I’ll have to devote a good amount of time to cleaning my room before I can continue working and it’s really a bummer because in a way it’s a waste of time, but in a way it’s really necessary.

I have a lot of storage in my studio and when it’s clean it’s really functional.  I really like open storage where I can see exactly what I have at a glance without having to dig through deep drawers or cupboards, like these small nicknack shelves shown above.  I hate nicknacks, but I love the idea of displaying my small supplies (buttons, beads, old spools of thread, etc) so that I can enjoy their aesthetic value while they’re “in storage,”and at the same time keep them accessible for use.  In the near future I’d like to paint all of these shelves white, so as to unify them and make them blend into the wall.

A lot of this shelf space is being taken up by my matchbook and matchbox collection that I found at an estate sale a while back.  I really need to do some stash busting of those.  Actually, that’s what I’ve been working on today, but more on that later.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home

Leave a Reply

