Work in Progress; small doll

Last week I picked up the book Palm-Size Softies at our local library and today I decided to make the “many characters” doll on page 28.  I haven’t gotten too far yet, but I like where it is going.

After starting this project I realized that following a pattern from a book like this is a lot like cooking; you read the directions and materials list over before you get started just like you may read a new recipe with an ingredients list from a cookbook.  Since you are using a cookbook you’ve probably never made the dish before, but you’re excited to try it.  Maybe you discover that you need a lot of ingredients, then you realize that you don’t have one or more of the ingredients which makes you become hesitant to make the dish after all..but then you never really get around to it again.  Do you see where I’m going with this?

So today I decided not to let a lack of ingredients get in my way from making something fun.

The best part about this project is that since all of the pieces are so small, the littlest bits of fabric will do.  Though these pictures don’t show it, the best part about this doll is all of her different outfits you can make for her.  I can’t wait until I get to that part!

So, what’s been on your back burner that you’ve been putting off because you don’t have the perfect materials needed for your project?  Just get in there and mix it up a bit and I bet you’ll end up even prouder of your creation than if you followed the directions to a T.

Happy crafting!

2 Comments

Filed under Just For Fun

2 responses to “Work in Progress; small doll

  1. senjiva

    do you want some poly stuffing? I have a lot of it that I rarely use.

    • I’ve got a good amount I think, unless I go nuts and make like 200 more of these dolls or start making some amigurumi , which would actually be kinda cool. Thanks for the offer though 🙂

Leave a Reply

