African Print; Add Color To Your Space

Back in the summer of 2003 I went to Ghana, West Africa, to participate in a six-week architecture class of all things (more on that later).

It was an eye-opening trip for sure. It was my first time traveling to another continent and even my first time traveling by plane!

One of my favorite parts about Ghana was the color and patterns that are used in the fabrics there. The bolder and brighter, the better! At one point in my trip I bought a small amount of the print shown here. I loved the colors and the pattern of the leaves. I also liked the proverb that it featured; “DUA KUR GYE EMUM A OBU” which means, “A tree alone cannot withstand a storm.”

Unfortunately, this beautiful fabric sat in storage for years without being seen or enjoyed. It was such a large print, I thought, what was I going to do with it? Finally, when we moved into our current home I decided that it needed to be on display. I had a bunch of old stretcher boards that had previously been used for (bad) paintings that I did in college. It was such a simple and easy solution, I don’t know why I didn’t do it sooner!

And although the fabric is fairly small as far as yardage goes, it makes a fairly large piece of wall art, making it a bold focal point in our dining room.

Do you have a gorgeous fabric that you just can’t bear to cut into?  This is the perfect project for you!  And, if you later decide that you want your fabric back, it will have very little damage to it (some damage around the edges where the staples will be may occur).  Be careful to hang all artwork in areas that don’t receive direct sunlight which will damage, well, pretty much anything over time.

To attach your fabric to the stretcher bars just staple it on the back, stretching the fabric from the inside out, as you would a canvas for painting.  Fold the corners neatly for a nice, finished look.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home

Leave a Reply

