Where am I going? A July Challenge

Today I watched a very interesting video called Etsy Success Workshop: Crafting a Well-Rounded business.  This video features Becky Johnson of Sweetie Pie Press and Church of Craft.  During the course of this hour-long video, Becky talks about her background and how she developed her creative business.  It’s a very inspiring story and it made me think about what it is that I’m doing and where I want to go in the future, and more importantly, what steps I need to take to get their.

As a creative person, sometimes it’s easy to get caught up in individual tasks while losing sight of the big picture.

For the month of June I gave myself a challenge to write one blog post per day.  It hasn’t been easy and June isn’t over yet, but I can see the light at the end of the tunnel.  It was a big challenge for me because, like most people, I don’t always have something particularly profound or interesting to say every single day.  But by forcing myself to come up with a post, I really stretched myself to find subject matter that would be interesting to write about and (I hope) to read about.  I was surprised to see how my subject matter feed organically from post to post, sometimes inspiring a continuation of a thought while sometimes veering off into unexpected directions.

Though I don’t plan on posting new content everyday once June is over, I do plan on continuing to post regularly (probably 3-4 times per week) and really push to make the posts that do get published on this blog to be of high quality.

June was very much blog focused.  So where should I go in July?

After watching the before mentioned video, I’ve decided that I really need to focus on making zween a real business.  I’m still at a loss as to what that means to me, but July will be all about finding that out.

What will be your personal challenge this July?

Leave a comment

Filed under About

Leave a Reply

