A Natural Evolution

During the Rowdy Indie Craft Fair a couple of weeks ago a young girl, probably between five and seven years old, spotted this basket on my table and excitedly announced to her mother, “mommy, mommy LOOK!  It’s an ACORN!”  Her mother, probably realizing that I had not meant for my basket to look like an acorn, seemed a bit uncomfortable and (needlessly) embarrassed.  She was right, I hadn’t meant for it to look like an acorn, but after the girl pointed it out I thought, hmm… that’s a great idea!  And so I made an acorn, and then another.

And then there was this little guy who I started making on a whim one day.  I didn’t want him to be just a plushy (and since he’s made with plastic bags, he wouldn’t be very plush now would he).  So he became a weeble wobble.

weeble wobble owl

Today I finished this purse that incorporates the owl motif.  The shape is similar; it’s mostly just bigger and has a slightly flatter bottom.  I also added a recycled zipper and handles of course.

These projects are a microcosm of the evolution that my work (and life) have gone though.  With each new project something is learned or discovered and the road to the next project is paved.

I think about this a lot, and not just in terms of crochet.  It’s easy to feel behind in life.  Like I’m not where I should be.

When I start to feel like this I think of all the things that I’ve done that I look back on with any sort of fondness, pride, or satisfaction; trips I’ve taken, jobs I’ve had, projects I’ve finished.  Then I think about all the things that had to happen before I was able to do those things.

About six months ago I created this website as a platform to share my projects, ideas, and inspirations.  One hundred posts later, I’m still evolving.

This post was just added to Made By You Mondays on Skip to My Lou.  Click the link to check out other entries!

To keep up with zween, please become a fan on Facebook.

5 Comments

Filed under About

5 responses to “A Natural Evolution

  1. Nancy

    Emily, wonderful post as always! Love the purse, how much?
    And the little girl was correct, the basket looks like an acorn, and the ones you made later, really look like acorns, good job!

  2. I’m a sucker for acorns. They always remind me of my great grandmother whom I loved dearly. Thank you for sharing!

  3. I’ve never even thought of recycling carrier bags, genius! I’ve just popped you on my versatile blogger award list, I think you’re fab but I only found you last week! http://handmadebymrsh.blogspot.com/2011/08/versatile-blogger-award.html

  4. Your stuff is adorable and I love the acorns – I have mentioned your blog in my recent post about Plarn to my followers. You’re a real inspiration and have such creative flair. Great work!

Leave a Reply

