Craigslist Find; Vintage Button Pins

Since we’ve moved back to the U.S. several months ago after our time as Peace Corps volunteers in Morocco, my husband and I have been in a “nesting” faze.  This is when I first really discovered Craigslist.

Though I’m pretty sure I had heard of the site prior to December, 2010, I had never used it as a tool to find an apartment and had certainly never bought or sold anything through it.

That has changed.

Our apartment was found through Craigslist, as well as our couch and kitchen table and chairs.  Jon sold our old laptop and kitchen table through the site too.

Lately, we’ve been looking for some new (to us) living room chairs. But after looking for chairs for a while I usually get distracted and just start looking for anything cool that’s close by.

Yesterday I really lucked out and came across an add for 140 pins circa 1960-early 90s (most being from the 7os)!  The whole lot was just $10!

At first I thought they would be in bad shape as pins, so I could make them into magnets.  But after examining them, I realized that most of them are really nice!

So now I don’t know what to do.  Some of them are really big, and I think think I’d like to do some sort of project with those to repurpose them into something a bit more functional.

What do you think?  Have you seen anything really cool done with vintage buttons like these?  I would love to hear your ideas in the comments below!

5 Comments

Filed under Old School

5 responses to “Craigslist Find; Vintage Button Pins

  1. These are just flat out awesome. One cool idea would be to epoxy them into a tabletop. The DJ room at the radio station I used to work at had this done and it was so cool. I think Lakewood hardware sells the epoxy coating solution material (I don’t know the name of it). Or of course you can make some hair pins.

    • Thank you Robin! I have to admit that I felt a little guilty buying them, considering it is Stashbusting September, but the purchase was made with my business in mind (which is legal) so I just couldn’t pass them up. The table top idea is super cool, as well as the hair pins, although some of them are just SO BIG (3 1/2 inches) I don’t think they’d work for that… It might be one of those things I’ll have to sit on for a bit, but I curtainly will enjoy them in the mean time. Today I’m wearing a Mickey Rat pin!

  2. Such a cool purchase, I wouldn’t have been able to pass it up either. I mean wow I am in awe of how darn cool this purchase is! And of course a bit jealous.

  3. yours look fun,what a deal.I would like to know the value of some that I have had a long time.One looks very old with a picture of Roy Rodgers&his horse Trigger with an odd pin,one is a 1994 Kelloggs with Tony Tiger&one is a 1988 with a pic.of Johnnnie Dep (I think)does anyone know?

Leave a Reply

