Messenger Bag Revisited

Last week I decided to revisit a project that I made almost 6 years ago, a messenger bag made with plarn and featuring arrow designs.  You may remember me mentioning it last month in my post crocheting with plastic bags; a six year journey.

I had a lot of fun with this project.

Before I even started, I dug out the original bag from a box in the attic.  It looked really sad. The edges are all wonky from lack of knowledge in crochet, and because I used to use it quite a bit, it was more than just a little worn looking.

Crochet Plarn Messenger Bag

crochet plarn messanger bag

The last time I went thrift store shopping I bought a bunch of old fabric strap belts with metal rings to use as bag straps.  I got the idea from my friend Chris and her mother while at the Car Kulture Show last month.

I decided that a messenger-style bag would be the perfect application for one of these belts.

The pattern of this bag is very simple and almost identical to the original, except of course for the strap and the placement of the arrows. I also decided to incorporate some pink bags to go with the strips in the strap.

So what do you think?  Do you like how my new one came out?

If you really dig this bag and you live in the Cleveland area you will be able to purchase it from the gift shop at MOCA (museum of contemporary art; Cleveland) as of this Friday, September 23rd which marks their very last opening reception at their current location at 8501 Carnegie Ave, Cleveland.

For their farewell season they’ll be showcasing the works of sculpture Ursula Van Rydingsvard who is a “distinctive and compelling voice in contemporary art” and is “best known for creating large-scale, often monumental cedar sculptures that exude great physical and psycological power.  Her sinature abstract shapes refer to things in the real world–simple vessles, bowls, tools and other obejcts–each revealing the mark of the human hand while also summoning natural forms and forces.”

After dropping off nearly all of the plarn items that I have made to date at MOCA this morning I was privalaged to a sneak peak of the exhibit and let me just say it’s very impressive!  If you are in the Cleveland area this is a must-see for sure!  The opening is free and open to the public and will start at 7pm, but come early at 6 to hear Ursula talk about her work in person.

3 Comments

Filed under Critique

3 responses to “Messenger Bag Revisited

  1. Wow, that new one looks downright professional! The strap made a big difference. The first one was ingenious, but the second one is definitely purchase-worthy. Great job! I really enjoy seeing what you come up with!

    • Thank you so much! The best part about using the belt as the strap is really how it feels. That plarn is just not very nice against your shoulder, where as the belt is soft and very comfortable while still being strong.

  2. I really love the idea for the new straps, I am going to have to try that. I would have never thought of that. The bag looks so much better.

Leave a Reply

