Traditional Christmas Stars

This Christmas season I decided to tackle a traditional ornament project; the Froebel Star (also know as an Advent Star, Danish Star, Polish Star, German Star, Swedish Star, etc).

I got the idea a couple of weeks ago on a routine trip to my local printer here in Lakewood, Ohio.  There the owner bundles up small packs of scrap paper that he trims from larger sheets.  Many of these are the perfect size for jotting down notes, but some are a bit more unusual.  I noticed that he was selling some bundles of long, thin strips of paper and the first thing that came to my mind where the Christmas stars that my Mom and her siblings used to make.  Growing up, I remember having  several of these stars that we hung on our tree.

At one point, several years ago, my mom taught me how to make one but I could no longer remember.  I decided to buy a bundle of long paper strips from the printer and give it a try anyway.

Starting with a simple google search, I eventually found this tutorial.  At first I found the tutorial too confusing to follow so I turned to YouTube, but I could only find one video which was poorly lite and not even in English.  It did give me a good enough understanding of the process however and when I went back to the original tutorial I found it much easier to understand.

When my mom used to make these she would dip them in wax and sprinkle them with glitter.  I decided to go sans wax and glitter on mine.  I like the simplicity of the parchment-like paper.

I love the dimensionality of these stars and I also love that I was able to make them out of materials that would otherwise be wasted.  The other day I went back to the printer to give him one of the stars made from his paper scraps.  He was really excited because he often gets customers in his shop who ask him, “what would you ever do with these skinny paper scraps?  Who would want these??”  So now he has something to show them when they ask these questions.

These stars make wonderful individual ornaments, but could also be strung together to form a beautiful garland.

What are some of your favorite Christmas traditions?  I’d love to hear about them in the comments below or on the zween facebook page.

Merry Christmas and happy crafting!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Hollidays, Tutorials

Leave a Reply

