Chevron Ombre Messenger Bag

Untitled

Today I finished a messenger bag with a chevron ombre pattern that was made with the humblest of fiber materials; plastic grocery bags lovingly processed into plarn (plastic yarn).

Please enjoy the picture show of how this bag was created.

It all started with a ball of brown plarn…
Untitled

…and a ball of pink plarn.

Untitled

Since I had many shades of pink plastic bags I decided to incorporate an ombre design.Β  See how the pink transitions as I crocheted along, finishing the back panel after three days.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

After the back panel was complete it was time to make the front. I could have done the same Chevron pattern here, but I decided to enlarge it instead. This section took one evening to complete.

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

Next I made a long strip of crocheted brown plarn to give the bag some thickness and then attached all the pieces together. I used pieces of yarn to hold everything in place as I worked so that all of the pieces were perfectly alined.

Untitled

Finally, I attached an old belt for the strap, since it feels better for wearing than it would had I just made the strap of crocheted plarn.

Untitled

And here is the messenger bag completed…

Untitled

Untitled

Untitled

I hope you enjoyed the step-by-step pictures of how I made this bag.

To keep up with all things zween, please follow me on Facebook and Pinterest!

This post has been added to the linky party Make it Pretty Monday week 18 over on the dedicated house, Made by you Mondays over on Skip to my Lou, and Making Mondays Marvelous on C.R.A.F.T. so check them out for some linky fun!

11 Comments

Filed under Upcycled

11 responses to “Chevron Ombre Messenger Bag

  1. Sure I enjoy !
    Sorry but I am French and not really good at english but I visit your blog every day !!
    Have a good evening !

  2. Really lovely – you have inspired me to try something different with the bag crochet I have been doing x.

  3. Love this – the pattern, the colours, and especially that it’s made from ‘plarn’ ( a term I hadn’t heard before, although I’ve made and used some myself …) =D

  4. Lovely job, and what a great way to make stockpiles of plastic bags useful πŸ™‚

  5. wow i cannot believe you made it. It looks incredible and it’s a great way to use plastic bags.

  6. I love this! I totally have been wanting to make something out of plarn! You did a great job with this bag πŸ™‚

  7. Ric

    This looks fantastic! I have made lots of plarn bags up to now, but non so beautiful as yours. is. Very inspiring!

  8. Where do you get pink grocery bags? We get almost exclusively white with black print. Two stores use brown with black print. We have a hardware store that uses bright yellow with red print, but I don’t use that much hardware.

    • Good question. The pink bags come from a store called Marc’s. I don’t usually shop there but friends that know what I do save the ones that they get and give them to me. I pretty much try not to accept any single use bags myself when I’m shopping.

Leave a comment