Wise Owl Plarn Wristlets

Untitled

Perhaps you are familiar with the nursery rhyme:

“A wise old owl lived in an oak.
The more he heard, the less he spoke.
The less he spoke, the more he heard.
Why aren’t we all like that wise old bird?”

I recently became acquainted with this nursery rhyme from Vernon Grant’s Mother Goose, one of my current favorite children’s books to read with little Virginia.  I love the illustrations and the fact that a lot of the nursery rhymes appear in a longer form than what I remember.  I also enjoy the short biography of Grant on the last few pages which describes his long career as an Illustrator, who is best know for creating the characters Snap, Crackle and Pop for Kellogg’s.

plarn owl wristlet work in progress

You may remember my first plarn owl wristlet, which appeared on my blog just over a year ago.  Well, it was such a big hit last craft show season, I decided to make a few new ones for the Last Minute Market, which I am so excited to be participating in this December 15th!

Untitled

plarn eyes for owls

You may notice that I’ve made some changes to the design since it’s original creation.  The new version features a grosgrain ribbon for the wrist strap, which feels much better than the crocheted plastic against the skin.  The eyes and beak are a slightly different design as well.   And the over-all shape of the bag is a bit bigger and squatter than the original, making it both roomier and easier to access.

Untitled

These plarn owl wristlets are made with all recycled and re-purposed materials; plastic grocery and newspaper bags, zipper, buttons and ribbon.   This owl is wise to think so highly of our planet and you should too!

Thank you for stopping by.  I’d love to hear your comments about this project if you have a minute or two.  Happy crafting everyone!

To keep up with all things zween, make sure to follow me on Pinterest and Facebook!

This post has been added to the linky party Make it Pretty Monday on the Dedicated House, and Made by You Monday on Skip to my Lou.

****UPDATE****

The NEW plarn owl wristlet version is now available in my Etsy store!

5 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Upcycled

5 responses to “Wise Owl Plarn Wristlets

  1. I love this! We’ve been working with plarn for a recent initiative here in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia. I find that some plarn is just too sticky. Have you experienced that?

    • funny you should mention the stickier plastic. I have in fact, experienced this with the orange bags that I use for the beaks. But luckily I don’t need to use too much of it.

  2. They are so very very cute!

  3. Really cute. Pinned! Shared on Facebook. New like on Facebook. Like me too at http://www.sewsweetvintage.com. I posted chalk board table to The dedicated House: Make it pretty Monday:)

  4. Those are so cute. Thank you for sharing this at my Make it Pretty Monday party at The Dedicated House. Hope to see your prettiness again on Monday. Toodles, Kathryn @TheDedicatedHouse

Leave a comment